VISUAL PLANNING 5.3 DOCUMENTATION

Multi-User Management

Stand Alone Version

In its stand-alone version, VISUAL PLANNING is an excellent personal organiser and allows several users successively to access the same data.

This version includes all the features needed to manage the planning of a service: prediction, monitoring the activity and delays, reports and analysis are an integral part of the tool, supplemented by the import and export of all data types.

Server Version

In its network server version, it takes on a whole other dimension: it then becomes a tool for managing and disseminating information among the various members of a work group or the whole company. It also enables the various departments and personnel to be informed of the progress of the tasks with may have an impact on their work.

Sharing planners in real time

The planners can be consulted and updated by several people concurrently. Each user views the changes made by the other users.

Although the database is always updated (any new or modified information is immediately recorded in the database), an automatic reloading is performed on the other user workstations (its frequency can be set by each user), so that every screen reflects the same information.

To force this update to be made, press the button on the tool bar. This operation enables the user to be certain that all the new or modified data will be taken into account at the moment they manually trigger the update.

With the planner thus updated, everyone can consult or modify it in full confidence.

NB: For a real time performance in collective use, each action in VISUAL PLANNING is immediately recorded in the database. There is therefore no manual save function.

If the machine crashes, or there is a break in the line or a power-cut, no operation that has already been carried out will be lost.

Users rights management

A special administrator’s program admin center, is delivered with VISUAL PLANNING (in its network server version).

It allows to create users and assign them to various licences; to create, save and restore planners; to consult the list of users connected to a planner, etc.

Thus, for example, it is possible to exclude certain users from the set up functions and restrict their use solely to the resources and projects for which they are responsible.

Print/export
Languages
Translations of this page: