VISUAL PLANNING 5.3 DOCUMENTATION

Management of the groups

DEFINITION

A Group of users contains the users that have the same rights on a planner.

It is identified by:

  • its name,
  • an optional description,
  • and a list of users.

To be used, the groups must be allocated to a planner.

ADMIN CENTER allows to create, modify, delete the groups, assign users to the groups and associate them to planners.

This feature requires VISUAL PLANNING ENTERPRISE.

ADMINISTRATION

View the groups

Groups are visible in the ADMIN CENTER by clicking on the Groups button:

Then, the list of groups appears, with their descriptions and their planners:

Create a group

In the ADMIN CENTER, the creation of a group is reachable by clicking on the Groups button:

Then, right-click on a group > Add a group.

A following window will appear:

Precise the characteristics of the group and click on the OK button.

It is possible to create groups consecutively. For this, click the Apply button.

It is also reachable from another entry point: Menu Edition > Creation block > Add a group.

The characteristics of a group are:

Name

Enter the name of the group in this field. Each group must have a unique name. If the name is used yet, a message appears.

Description

Enter an optional description which will appear on the list of existing group.

Users

It concerns the visualization and/or modification of the users of the group.

Right-Click on the right button.

A properties window of the users will appear:

In this window, drag&drop the users from the left to the right via the arrows:

It is also possible to see the group(s) of the users in the Management of the users.

The groups are also visible, in the planners list. If the planner owns a large number of groups, placing the mouse on the groups will show the tool tip with all groups.

Send a mail

This option is available only if the SMTP server is set up.

Right-click on a group name > Send mail.

This option allows to send an email to all the users of a group.

Modify a group

In the ADMIN CENTER, to modify a group, click on the Groups button:

Then, right-click on the group > Modify (or double-click on the group). (cf. Create a group)

It is not possible to cancel the modification of a group.

Delete a group

In the ADMIN CENTER, to delete a group, click on the Groups button:

Then, right-click on the group > Delete.

It is not possible to cancel the deletion of a user.

Print/export
Languages
Translations of this page: