VISUAL PLANNING 5.3 DOCUMENTATION

Management of the planners on VP ESSENTIAL

DEFINITION

For VISUAL PLANNING, each planner is a database.

To manage these planners, it is possible:

  • To create.
  • To import.
  • To restore.
  • To export.
  • To delete.

All these functionalities are available for the main administrator of VISUAL PLANNING:

  • In a ONE version: accessible from VISUAL PLANNING.
  • In a ESSENTIAL or ENTERPRISE version: accessible from the ADMIN CENTER.

ADMINISTRATION

View the planners

The planners are visible in the ADMIN CENTER by clicking on the Planners button:

The following window will appear:

Create a planner

Only the main administrator of VISUAL PLANNING can create a new planner.

cf. Create a new planner

Modify a planner

The modification of a planner usually concerns its settings.

In the ADMIN CENTER, the modification of a planner concerns:

  • The allocation of the users.
  • The administrators of the planner.

This allocation is accessible by clicking on the Planners button:

Then right-click on the planner > Modify.

The following window will appear:

Then it is possible to modify its properties and validate by clicking on the OK button.

Name

It concerns the name of the planner, given when creating.

This name is unique for each planning.

Description

It is an optional description of the planner.

Block Access

Checking this check box causes the disconnection of all users of the planning.

cf. Connected users

After the disconnection, the only global administrator and planner administrators can reconnect.

Activate 'Import/export'

It is necessary to check this box in case of import and / or export by service.

cf. Export using service and Import using service

Activate 'Send mail'

It is necessary to check this box to enable automatic sending mails from one or more events.

cf. Automatic sending of e-mails

Enable URL backup

It is necessary to check this check box to enable the export of the planner via an URL. To display the URL, cf. view url backup.

Version

It concerns the version of the planner structure in the database.

This number may be asked by the Support of STILOG I.S.T. in case of maintenance.

Delete a planner

Warning:

Deleting a planner should be approached with extreme caution.

Every planner deletion is irreversible and destroy:

  • All data (Resources, Events…).
  • The settings that were done.
  • The existing permissions.

It is strongly recommended to check carefully that this is a planner that can be deleted!

Preliminary, it is advisable to make a backup copy of the planner. (cf. Export a planner)

To delete a planner, Right-Click on the planner > Delete.

The following window will appear:

  • To confirm, click on Yes.
  • To cancel, click on No.

Export a planner

To export a planner, go to the Planner Menu > Export block > Export the planner:

There are two possibilities:

  • Export into a file.
  • Export as model.

Export into a file

It allows to export a backup copy of the planner. It is a *.VPS file.

This file contains the entire planner, its groups and their permissions.

The following window will appear:

Then:

  • Define the path where the *.VPS file will be register.
  • Choose a Name (it can be useful to precise the export hour and date).
  • Click on the OK button.

Export as model

It allows to create a planner as a model. This model will be used as a pattern for a new planner.

The following window will appear:

Then:

  • Define the Name.
  • Define the Description.
  • Click on the OK button.

This model is visible when creating a new planner.

Import a planner

The planner import allows to create a new planner, a new database using a *.VPS file.

To import a planner, go to the Planners menu > Import block > Import a planner:

The following window will appear:

Then:

  • Search for the planner which has the form *.VPS.
  • Select it.
  • Click on Open.

The following window will appear:

Then:

  • Define the Name for the new planner.
  • Define the Description for this planner.
  • Click on the OK button.

If a planner that has the same name already exists, the following window will appear:

To replace the existing planner, click on “Yes”. Otherwise, click on “No”.

Restore a planner

Restoring a planner allows to overwrite the existing planner by another *.VPS planner with the same name.

To restore a planner, right-click on the planner to overwrite > Restore:

The following window will appear:

Then:

  • Search for the planner which has the form *.VPS.
  • Select it.
  • Click on Open.

The import can last a few minutes. During the import, the following window will appear:

View URL backup

This functionality is enabled only if the activation of the URL was checked. (cf. Enable url backup)

When clicking, the export URL of the planner is displayed:

Copy/Paste this URL in a web browser or in the functionality that will use this URL to launch the export of the planner.

The file will have the following form: “Name_of_the_planner_yyyymmdd_hhmm.vps”.

Connection histories

It is possible to show the connection histories.

To do this, in the ADMIN CENTER, click the button Plannings:

Then, Right click on the planning > Connection histories.

The following window will appear:

Then, it is possible to define the start and the end of time period.

The start and end of the period are defined the same way.

It is possible to define time periods with:

  • Relative Start and End.
  • Fixed Start and End.
  • Fixed Start and Relative End.
  • Relative Start and Fixed End.
Fixed Date

In this case, it is necessary to specify a date and hour.

This date is independent of when the time period is used.

Relative value

In this case, it is necessary to define a date on when the time period is used.

Each rolling period is defined as:

  • A Relative value : A number. The reference period is represented by the number 0.
  • A Relative unit : Hour, Day, Week, Month…

Examples:

Time periods Current date (of the functionality date of use) Signification
The fixed date of 21/01/2011 whatever the current date always means the 21/01/2011
The relative value 1 day at the date of 31/12/2011 means the 31/12/2011
The relative value 1 day at the date of 02/01/2012 means the 02/01/2012

The information described the elements modified ​​by the user. To appear, these items must not have been subsequent changed.

Print/export
Languages
Translations of this page: